Friday, February 17, 2023

Lanue-Sacred Heart Music Center, Duluth, MN- 10/20/22

Sacred Heart Music Center
Duluth, MN
Oct. 20th, 2022

This is a "Midwest Sounds" recording (MWS196)

Lineage: Audience Recording using Zoom H2 internal mics > SD Card > PC > Mastered in Adobe Audition > Track splitting using CD Wave Editor > Compressed to FLAC Level 8 using dBpoweramp > Tagged with MP3 Tag

-Feel free to re-master, share freely anywhere else, convert to MP3, just never ever sell it. Also, if you like this show, please support the artist by buying/streaming their music, buying a ticket to a show or buying merch.

Two of Minnesota’s best cutting-edge songwriters, Duluth-based Lanue and Minneapolis-based Humbird, share the beautiful Sacred Heart altar stage in a special one-night-only, live-audience performance at 7:30 pm Thursday, Oct. 20.

More pictures here: Link


1. Intro
2. May
3. Standing in the Way
4. Persephone
5. Plum Sky
6. Heavy
7. Summer Storm for Charlotte
8. 48 Hours
9. Cornfields and Roadkill
10. Radiator
11. Quickest Way
12. Pink Moon for John Prine
13. On the Day We Are Together Again

Siri Undlin- Vocals, Guitar
Pat Keen- Bass
Pete Quirsfeld- Drums

Inspired by the crystalline chill of the north country she calls home in Minnesota, Humbird combines a wintry longing with the warmth of a familiar folktale. Humbird’s music moves between experimental folk and environmental Americana to embrace the unexpected. The music invites a refreshing dissonance into the house. It leaves bread crumbs along the path and reflects light back at the stars.

Siri Undlin witnessed the power of storytelling in her childhood home and began writing music and performing in church choirs and in Irish ensembles from a young age. Her voice, which contains the unwavering fortitude of hymnal melodies, reveals her traditional background.

In 2019, Humbird released the critically acclaimed, debut full-length, Pharmakon, which introduced us to Humbird’s songcraft and harmonic folk style.


1. Intro
2. September
3. Oil Fields (cuts out)
4. What I Love The Most (missing)
5. Pull Through (missing)
6. Mississippi (cuts in)
7. When It Don't Come Easy (Patty Griffin cover)
8. Days in the Sun
9. Mexico
10. July
11. Fire in My Mind
12. Only Love Can Break Your Heart (Neil Young cover)
13. Tomorrow

Lanue (Sarah Krueger)- Vocals, Guitar, Piano
Steve Garrington- Bass
Lars-Erik Larson- Drums
Ben Lester- Pedal Steel Guitar

Feeling detached from her previously released work, Sarah Krueger assembled a cast of collaborators in 2021 to help flesh out a collection of new songs that would later become the catalyst for Lanue.
Culled from the title of a poem that found its way to Krueger from a thrift store shelf, Lanue stands firmly in front of a fresh creative backdrop and boasts a more developed taste and sincerity than Krueger’s previous releases — both a welcome departure and anticipated return.

In Lanue’s self titled LP, Krueger continues to amplify her knack for straightforward and earnest songwriting while maintaining a vocal delivery that sits like honey over layers of warm synths, guitars, and percussion. Ranging from confessional to nostalgic, each track is brightened by a lush lift while continuing to rest inside the framework of the folk tradition.

Tapers notes: This was a disappointing recording, I had an SD card error, so part of Lanue's set is missing here. Luckily, both sets were being streamed and are able to be watched in their entirety on YouTube, so it was a good lesson to replace SD cards regularly that didn't come at the cost of losing out on that part of the show completely. And of course, as to be expected, the stream has better audio quality as it's running off the SBD. But, I figured I'd share this source for documentation.


No comments:

Post a Comment