Tuesday, April 2, 2024

Hurray for the Riff Raff, Amsterdam Bar and Hall, St.Paul, MN- 3/15/24

Hurray for the Riff Raff
Amsterdam Bar and Hall
St. Paul, MN
Mar. 15th, 2024

This is a "Midwest Sounds" recording (MWS287)

Lineage: Audience Recording using Zoom H2 internal mics > SD Card > PC > Mastered in Adobe Audition > Track splitting using CD Wave Editor > Compressed to FLAC Level 8 using dBpoweramp > Tagged with MP3 Tag

-Feel free to re-master, share freely anywhere else, convert to MP3, just never ever sell it. Also, if you like this show, please support the artist by buying/streaming their music, buying a ticket to a show or buying merch.

More pictures here: Link



1. Some Days
2. Touchdown
3. Going Crazy
4. Wasted
5. Armoire
6. Dibs
7. My Life
8. Glass Casket
9. Sudafed > It's OK


NNAMDÏ is an American multi-instrumentalist and singer-songwriter based in Chicago, Illinois.

Hurray for the Riff Raff


1. Intro
2. Alibi
3. Buffalo
4. Hawkmoon
6. Dynamo
7. Colossus of Roads
8. Snake Plant (The Past Is Still Alive)
9. The Body Electric
10. Vetiver
11. SAGA
12. Hourglass
13. The World Is Dangerous
14. Ogallala
15. Wave of Mutilation (Pixies cover)
16. Pa'lante

Alynda Segarra- Vocals, Guitar
Yan Westerlund- Drums
Parker Gregory- Electric Guitar


Fans of Waxahatchee, Big Thief and any other lyrically driven folk-rock act of the day should finally take note of Alynda Segarra and their New Orleans-based ensemble. Their new record, "The Past Is Still Alive," sets the high-water mark of a nine-album discography and stands as one of the year's best LPs so far. Produced by Bon Iver affiliate Brad Cook, it's laced with character-driven songs about train-hopping gutter punks, a beaten trans woman and other people struggling to find America's so-called freedom. Chicago experimenter Nnamdi opens.

Tapers notes: Always great to see Alynda and Hurray for the Riff Raff. I've felt for a while now that Alynda is one of the most important songwriters of this generation, and the new album did nothing but cement that thought. They play the entire album here, plus a few from the back catalog. The recording here is pretty good quality, there was almost no chatter throughout the show, which was great. You could tell everyone there was focused on the music and lyrics, which speaks to the power of Alynda's presence. This was the last show of this part of the tour, but they are constantly touring, I would definitely recommend seeing them if they are in your area.

"Got a mind to ramble, got a mind to roam
I’m travelin’ light and I’m slow coming home"

No comments:

Post a Comment