Wednesday, December 27, 2017

Charlie Parr-Live at Oak Center General Store, Lake City, MN-12/22/17

Charlie Parr
Oak Center General Store
Lake City, MN

More pictures here: Link

-Audience Recording using Zoom H2 rear internal mics >SD Card>PC>Adobe Audition>CD Wave Editor (split tracks)>TLH>FLAC Level 8
-"A "Midwest Sounds" recording (MWS067)
-Feel free to re-master, share on any other torrent site, convert to MP3, just never ever sell it. Also, if you like this show, please support the artist by buying their music and seeing a show next time they're in your area.

Set 1

1. Moonshiner
2. Outlastin' You (a.k.a. Over The Red Cedar)
3. Lowdown
4. Goin' Down Slow (St. Louis Jimmy Oden cover)
5. Jubilee
6. Peaceful Valley
7. Possessed By The Devil
8. Hobo
9. My Grandfather's Clock (Henry Clay Work cover)
10. Old Blue

Set 2

1. Boiling Down Silas
2. Mastodon
3. Evil Companion
4. I Ain't Dead Yet
5. 1922 Blues
6. Dog
7. Falcon
8. Cheap Wine
9. 1951 Blues (Luther Huff cover)
10. Remember Me If I Forget
11. Kassie Jones (Trad.)
12. There Ain't No Grave Gonna Hold My Body Down (Brother Claude Ely cover)


"Authentic gets used way too much, but when you hear Charlie you'll understand its meaning. Charlie shows up with his lived-in rasp of a voice, a National Resonator guitar, a twelve string acoustic, a banjo, a batch of his own songs, and well-traveled numbers by revered bluesmen from other times. He executes his music the way it should be with a self-taught mix of slide, finger-picking, quasi-frailing techniques, and a voice that says, "this is the blues". Charlie Parr is the real deal. We’re not pulling your leg. But don’t take our word for it... listen to his music. You’ll be glad you did. Always a sold out show at Oak Center, get your tickets early!"

TAPERS NOTE: During "Cheap Wine", one of the dogs that kind of roam during the show felt the call of "nature" during song, right in front of the stage basically, so you'll hear Charlie's commentary during the song about that, as well the cleanup by the venue owner during the next song.

No comments:

Post a Comment