Thursday, March 14, 2024

IV & The Strange Band, James Ballentine “Uptown” VFW Post 246, Minneapolis, MN- 3/2/24

IV & The Strange Band
James Ballentine “Uptown” VFW Post 246
Minneapolis, MN
Mar. 2nd, 2024

This is a "Midwest Sounds" recording (MWS283)

Lineage: Audience Recording using Zoom H2 internal mics > SD Card > PC > Mastered in Adobe Audition > Track splitting using CD Wave Editor > Compressed to FLAC Level 8 using dBpoweramp > Tagged with MP3 Tag

-Feel free to re-master, share freely anywhere else, convert to MP3, just never ever sell it. Also, if you like this show, please support the artist by buying/streaming their music, buying a ticket to a show or buying merch.

More pictures here: Link

Pine & Fire

1. Intro
2. Train Cries
3. Workin' Folks Life
4. Recession Blues
5. Hold My Head Up High
6. Give Me Your Word
7. John Henry (Trad.)
8. Only as Holy
9. Left Behind Blues
10. Dance on the Ashes
11. Gas Can

Jobi Adams- Vocals, Guitar
Brandi Foster- Vocals, Mandolin, Banjo

Pine & Fire is a D.I.Y. folk music duo from the north woods of Minnesota. They blend traditional roots music influences with a modern punk sentiment, creating a unique and driving sound. Together they sing original songs woven with themes of love, escapism, home, and growth.

Possessed By Paul James

1. 40 Days & 40 Nights
2. When It Breaks
3. There Will Be Nights When I'm Lonely
4. Come Back in My Mind
5. Nightmare Waltz
6. Feed the Family
7. Ferris Wheel
8. Asleep With Both Eyes Open
9. Heavy
10. Hurricane
11. Sweet But Bitter Life
12. 38 Year Old Cocktail Waitress
13. Older in My Body
14. Dragons
15. 3 AM
16. We Welcome You Home

Konrad Wert is a man of many voices. As a special education teacher, he is articulate and intentional.As an advocate for justice in education, he is passionate. But as an artist and musician, better known by his stage name Possessed By Paul James, his voice is expressive, holding rest and action in tandem. In truth, "Paul James" is a fiction, a combination of the names of Wert's father and grandfather. Those who have seen him perform, however, would agree he seems possessed by something. Wert has still been able to release 5 full length albums, two of which topped Bluegrass Billboard charts in 2013 & 2020. Possessed by Paul James’s upcoming 6th album, titled Fighting For Our Own Survival, set to release "sooner than later".

IV & The Strange Band

1. Intro
2. Diddle
3. Reincarnation (Roger Miller cover)
4. Inbred
5. Hang Dog
6. A.A.
7. Today
8. Drinking Sad
9. Deep Down
10. Son of Sin
11. Neskowin Ranger
12. Monkey Trick (The Jesus Lizard cover)
13. The Bleed
14. I'm Gonna Haunt You
15. Malice
16. If The Creek Don't Rise

Coleman Williams- Vocals, Guitar
Hunter Mellish- Bass
Lee Trent- Pedal Steel Guitar
Ethan Salas- Guitar
Hunter Edwards- Drums

As the great-grandson of Hank Williams Sr., grandson of Hank Williams Jr., and only son of Hank 3, Coleman Williams spent years waging an internal battle with the expectations thrust upon him by his own lineage. He represented the fourth generation of country music's most legendary family — hence his nickname, "IV" — and the pressure to launch his own career was enormous. Although Coleman would eventually make his mark with Southern Circus — the genre-bending debut from his band, IV and The Strange Band, combining southern storytelling and country textures with 100-watt guitar amps and DIY attitude — he needed to break free first and discover his own musical approach along the way. Southern Circus is his homecoming: an album that finds him not falling into a legacy, but earning it.

Tapers notes: Pretty good sound on this recording, no real flaws to speak of. I had never heard of Pine & Fire before this show, but was really impressed by them. Coleman & the band were great as always, playing a variety of genres throughout the set.

"Got a mind to ramble, got a mind to roam
I’m travelin’ light and I’m slow coming home"

No comments:

Post a Comment